Meet our 2022-2023 Chapter Officers & Board

Our chapter officers serve one-year terms that begin July 1 and end the following June 30. Our bylaws call for chapter members to vote to elect a president, at least one vice president, a secretary and a treasurer at an annual meeting to be held in June. This meeting was conducted electronically in lieu of an in-person gathering in deference to safety precautions during the COVID-19 pandemic.

These candidates, all incumbents, were re-elected to four officer positions serving a one-year term from July 1, 2022, to June 30, 2023.. Here they are:

President, Tim Eigo; Vice President, Debra Krol; Secretary, Mark Scarp; Treasurer, Teri Carnicelli. The election results tabulated by Survey Monkey can be found here.

Board members are nominated by the president and are seated with the approval of the officers. If you are interested in serving as a board member (which probably takes 2-3 hours of volunteer time per month), please email Tim Eigo at with your photo, current job description/title, and brief bio.

Below are the names and short biographies of 2022-2023 chapter officers and board members. Soon we will also post photos and bios of our other board members here as well:

President: Tim Eigo

Tim Eigo

Tim Eigo has served as Valley of the Sun SPJ chapter president since 2017. Since 2000 he has been the editor of Arizona Attorney, an award-wining monthly magazine, and he serves in leadership positions in a national legal organization. He chairs the Phoenix Board of Adjustment, which hears and decides zoning and land-use appeals. He was a founding member of the Downtown Phoenix Inc. board of directors, where he served for more than four years. A former California lawyer, he also has edited and written at a variety of publications, including the Orange County (Calif.) Business Journal


Vice President: Debra Krol

Debra Krol

Debra Utacia Krol has served as vice president of the Valley of the Sun SPJ chapter since 2017. An award-winning journalist, since 2019 she has been a reporter covering Native issues, environmental and science issues for The Arizona Republic. She is also owner of Jolon Indian Media, her part-time freelance journalism business, which produced articles in Arizona Capitol Times, Native Peoples Magazine, Indian Country Today This Week and other publications. She is also a member of the Native American Journalists Association. For nine years, she was senior communications manager for the world-class Heard Museum in Phoenix.

Secretary: Mark Scarp

Mark Scarp

Mark Scarp has served as secretary of the Valley of the Sun SPJ chapter since 2019. He served as chapter president from 1993 to 1997 and from 2003 to 2006, and as regional director on the national board of SPJ from 1997 to 2003. He worked as a newspaper journalist for more than 25 years in the Phoenix metro area, most recently for the East Valley Tribune and Scottsdale Tribune. He currently is media relations officer for Arizona State University’s Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions and teaches at ASU’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. For four years, he was communications manager for the world-class Heard Museum in Phoenix.

Treasurer: Teri Carnicelli

Teri Carnicelli

Teri Carnicelli is the current treasurer of the Valley of the Sun SPJ chapter, having served on the chapter board since 1998, during which time she has also served as president and secretary. For two years, she served on the national board of SPJ as regional director. From 2003 to 2019 she was editor of North Central News, a monthly community newspaper serving north central Phoenix. She currently is a content writer for Oxnard, Calif.-based Quality Innovative Solutions Inc., which serves communications needs in association with U.S. Navy installations at Point Hueneme, Calif.

Board Member: Nicole Greason

Nicole Greason is in her 10th year as the director of marketing and public relations for Barrett, The Honors College at Arizona State University. Prior to joining the university’s staff, Nicole was the marketing administrator for Fennemore Craig, a business law firm in Phoenix, Ariz., for over five years. She has worked in communications, marketing and p.r. for many years in the areas of K-12 education, higher education and health care for organizations including the Tempe Union High School District, Kyrene Elementary School District, Maricopa County Community College District, Maricopa County Department of Public Health and University of Texas at El Paso. She also worked as a reporter and assistant business editor at the Tucson Citizen. She is the past-president and current vice president of the Arizona Latino Media Association and a member of the National Association of Hispanic Journalists and the Society of Professional Journalists.

Board Member: Doug MacKenzie

Doug MacKenzie, former media relations director at Visit Phoenix, is now president of Four Peaks Strategies and Communications in Phoenix and Washington D.C