Awards contest deadline is July 11

Each year, the Valley of the Sun Chapter of SPJ presents its annual Arizona Freedom of Information Awards, honoring excellence in journalism and in open government in Arizona during the previous calendar year. Other awards are given for dedication and outstanding service in journalism, as well as for special recognition for efforts on behalf of the First Amendment.

Nominations must be postmarked NO LATER THAN Friday, July 11 and mailed to: Teri Carnicelli, c/o North Central News, 5308 N. 12th St., Suite 402, Phoenix, AZ  85014. Self-nominations are welcome. E-mail submissions can be sent to

Award categories include:

  • The First Amendment Awards, which recognize efforts that substantially relied on public records and open meetings to produce top quality journalism.
  • The Order of the Silver Key, which honors journalists who have been in the profession for at least 25 years, a significant majority of which were in Arizona, who have conspicuously contributed to the journalism profession and have inspired fellow journalists.
  • The Phil Alvidrez Award for Excellence in Journalism, which recognizes the career of an Arizona journalist whose body of work has served to inspire fellow journalists, including a notable commitment to the cause of freedom of information. The award is named for Phil Alvidrez, who retired as news director at Phoenix’s KTVK-TV (Channel 3) after 20 years in that position. Alvidrez was a tireless campaigner for the free flow of government information, often committing his station’s financial resources to fight numerous court battles to open closed documents and meetings.

There is NO COST to enter the awards contest. Award nomination forms can be downloaded from the website under “Awards & Scholarships.”

For more information, contact Teri Carnicelli at 602-410-1267 or